STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C3-88-1547

Order Continuing Supreme Court Task Force on Financing of the Trial Courts

ORDER

WHEREAS, the legislative and judicial branches of government have worked in partnership to simplify and improve the organization and administration of the Minnesota State Court System;

WHEREAS, 1988 Minn. Laws Chapter 582, Section 2 authorizes the Supreme Court to establish a task force to study the control and financing of the trial courts; and the task force findings were reported to the Supreme Court and the Legislature on February 1, 1989;

WHEREAS, 1989 Minn. Laws Chapter 335, Art. 3, Section 43 authorizes the Supreme Court to continue to study the control and financing of the trial courts; and

WHEREAS, the continuing development of a strong, independent and unified judicial branch of state government and the continued assurance of adequate resources for its operations are of vital concern to the citizens of the state:

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: the Supreme Court Task Force on Financing of the Trial Courts be, and hereby is, continued to:

- Study all county-funded components of the district courts and make recommendations regarding their control and financing; and
- Consider and make recommendations concerning implementation issues raised by state financing of trial court operations.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED: the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed as members of the Supreme Court Task Force on Financing of the Trial Courts:

SUPREME COURT TASK FORCE ON FINANCING OF THE TRIAL COURTS

Honorable Peter S. Popovich, Chairperson Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-1012

Sue Alliegro, District Administrator Second Judicial District Ramsey County Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 298-4374

Honorable Kevin S. Burke Fourth Judicial District 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-4389

Harriette Burkhalter League of Women Voters 5 West St. Albans Hopkins, MN 55343 (612) 935-3002

Senator Richard Cohen Minnesota Senate G-27 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-5931

Honorable Lawrence T. Collins Third Judicial District P.O. Box 37 Winona, MN 55987 (507) 457-6480

Representative Terry Dempsey Minnesota House of Representatives 261 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-9303

Sue K. Dosal, State Court Administrator Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-2474

Richard Fasnacht, District Administrator Blue Earth Government Center 410 South Fifth Street - P.O. Box 3366 Mankato, MN 56001 (507) 388-5204

Margaret Langfeld, President Association of Minnesota Counties 325 E. Main Anoka, MN 55303 (612) 421-4760 Senator William P. Luther Minnesota Senate 205 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-8869

Honorable George A. Marshall Fifth Judicial District Lyon County Courthouse Marshall, MN 56258 (507) 537-6758

Robert J. Monson 555 Degree of Honor Bldg. 325 Cedar Street St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 227-6301

Senator James Ramstad Minnesota Senate 123 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-9251

Joseph Ries, Scott County Administrator Scott County Courthouse 428 S. Holmes Shakopee, MN 55379 (612) 445-7750

Representative Wayne Simoneau Minnesota House of Representatives 335 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-4331

Representative Loren A. Solberg Minnesota House of Representatives 453 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-2365

Marie Sunlitis Court Administrator Wright County Courthouse Buffalo, MN 55313 (612) 339-6881

Commissioner Thomas Triplett Department of Finance 4th Floor Centennial Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-2438

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED:

- 1. Peggy Addicks, Esq., Association of Minnesota Counties, be, and hereby is, designated as an exofficio/non-voting member of the task force.
- 2. Judith L. Rehak, Esq., Administrative Services Director of the Office of the State Court Administrator, be, and hereby is, designated as staff director of the task force.
- 3. The task force report its findings to the Supreme Court and the Legislature by August 1, 1990.

Dated: September 15, 1989

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

SEP 15 1989

FILED

BY THE COURT

Peter S. Popovich

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

of the State of Minnesota